It’s that time of year again!

It’s time for CAI-California Legislative Action Committee (CLAC) members to come together in Sacramento for the 2017 Legislative Day at the Capitol. It’s also time to recognize outstanding chapter volunteers for service to CLAC above and beyond the call of duty.

CLAC is pleased to announce seven nominations were received from the California Chapters. The CLAC Award and Scholarship Selection Subcommittee is comprised of the CLAC Chair, CLAC Vice-Chair and CLAC Past Chair as voting members. CLAC Advocate and CLAC Administrative Coordinator also participated in the discussion.  The winner will be selected based upon the nominees’ work in promoting CLAC within his or her chapter.

This year’s nominees include Chapter Legislative Support Committee (LSC) Chairs and members, a Board President, a Management Company Executive, CLAC Subcommittee members, as well as CLAC Delegates and Liaisons. Accomplishments among this exceptional group of volunteers include embracing and promoting the Buck-A-Door program, presenting the CLAC Moment at chapter events, encouraging member participation at fundraising and chapter events and leading the chapters’ grassroots efforts, including scheduling and attending local legislator appointments.

Additional accomplishments include initiating chapter LSC’s, complete with organizing consistent meeting schedules and encouraging chapter members to participate in the committee. Many of these outstanding volunteers are regulars at Legislative Day at the Capitol and support the event by obtaining sponsorships and encouraging attendee registration.

2016 Volunteer of the Year Award nominees are:

Janet Quinn Dennis with Pro Solutions – Bay Area & Central California Chapter

Jasmine Hale, Esq. with Adams|Stirling, PLC – Channel Islands Chapter

Clint Atherton, PCAM with Outdoor Resort Palm Springs – Coachella Valley Chapter

Robert Riddick, CMCA with Sunnymead Ranch PCA – Greater Inland Empire Chapter

Matthew Plaxton, Esq. with Tinnelly Law Group – Greater Los Angeles Chapter

Marcie Hvinden with Accell Property Management, Inc., AAMC – Orange County Regional Chapter

Kelly Mercado with BDS General Contractors – San Diego Chapter

Duncan McPherson Scholarship Recipient

In addition to these hardworking volunteers, last year CLAC established a scholarship opportunity for a Community Volunteer Leader or Association Manager to attend the 2017 Legislative Day at the Capitol. This scholarship was created in memory of Duncan McPherson, for his longstanding commitment to California legislation and CLAC.

While the 2016 Volunteer of the Year winner will remain a secret until it is announced at Legislative Day at the Capitol, CLAC is pleased to announce that Patrick Morrisey with the San Diego Chapter was selected among many deserving applicants, to receive the Duncan McPherson Scholarship. Mr. Morrisey has served as the board President of Yacht Club Condominiums HOA for eight years and also serves on the San Diego Legislative Support Committee.

Please join CLAC in thanking these outstanding nominees and scholarship recipient. We look forward to seeing you all at the 2016 Legislative Day at the Capitol on April 23rd and 24th in Sacramento to congratulate these awesome volunteers in person. The 2016 CLAC Volunteer of the Year will be named during Monday’s Award Ceremony.