The CAI California Legislative Action Committee (CAI-CLAC) is pleased to announce nominations were received from California CAI chapters and the Selection Committee, comprised of CAI-CLAC Chair, CAI-CLAC Vice-Chair and CAI-CLAC PR-Chair. The CAI-CLAC Administrator and Advocate also participated in the discussion, with the aforementioned three, being the voting members. The winner will be selected based upon the nominees work in promoting CAI-CLAC within his or her chapter.

This year’s nominees include LSC Chairs, LSC and Education Committee members, as well as CAI-CLAC Delegates. Accomplishments among this exceptional group of volunteers include embracing and promoting the Buck A Door program, presenting the CAI-CLAC Moment at chapter events, encouraging member participation in fundraising events, creating new CAI-CLAC Fundraising events and improving on already existing fundraising events. Additional accomplishments included initiating chapter LSC’s, complete with creating Committee Charters, organizing consistent meeting schedules and encouraging chapter members to participate in the committee. One nominee has even taken the time to travel to Sacramento to testify at the State Capitol and yet another enthusiastically advocates on behalf of CAI-CLAC, to ensure managers and homeowners are able to attend Legislative Day at the Capitol.

“With much appreciation and gratitude, please join me in thanking each of these outstanding nominees for their exceptional service and dedication to CAI-CLAC.,” says Jeff Beaumont, CAI-CLAC Chair. “Each nominee deserves special recognition for the time they dedicated to advocating for community associations and their passion for protecting the interests of the over 54,000 community associations in California. Congratulations to the nominees for this well-deserved honor!”

Without further adieu, this year’s nominees are:

Laura Ravazza, PCAM® with Homeowners Management Co., LLC – Bay Area & Central California Chapter

James Perero, Esq. with Myers, Widders, Gibson, Jones & Feingold, LLP – Channel Islands Chapter

Loni Peterson, PCAM®. with Desert Resort Management, an Associa Company – Coachella Valley Chapter

Fred Bartz, President with Morgan Hills Homeowners Association – Greater Inland Empire Chapter

Erik Rivera, PCAM® with Manhattan Pacific Management, Inc. – Greater Los Angeles Chapter

Dirk Petchul, Esq. with Whitney | Petchul, LLC – Orange County Regional Chapter

Pamela Richardson, Esq. with Flanagan Law, APC – San Diego Chapter

The winner of the 2019 Volunteer of the Year award was scheduled to be presented at CAI-CLACs annual Legislative Day at the Capitol, but due to COVID-19 was sadly postponed. The CAI-CLAC Executive Committee is please to invite you to join CAI-CLAC in thanking these outstanding nominees when we celebrate these nominees and our other 2019 award winners on Thursday, December 3, 2020. This will be a virtual event and will also include legislative updates from CAI-CLAC Advocate, Louie Brown, Esq. and CAI National GP&A Senior Vice President, Dawn Bauman, CAE.